2024 Goals: March’s Update

I’m back with another goal update! I know it’s two weeks into April, but in my defense, we’ve been busy! We (Kalen and I) were in Jamaica the first week of April, then when we got home we had a joint birthday for my sister and I, got new countertops installed, and had a variety of things to take care of, so now I’m finally able to sit down and write!


Take an Inventory of Food

I haven’t had a good chance to do this one yet, but I do know we’re slowly using up what we have, which is always a good thing!


Set Up (and follow!) a Cleaning Schedule

*glances down at the dust bunnies* Setting this goal while I was working part-time made sense, but now I’m wondering how much sense it makes for being full-time. Although, stuff does get neglected, so I guess it wouldn’t hurt.

Pay Down Our Massive Amount of Debt

Starting credit card debt from the end of December 2023: $79,881.39

January 2024: $79,963.06 (had to purchase a new desk chair this month for working from home, and also made a trip to Costco) so we went up $81.67. (looking at this on 3/1, it shows the amount as $79,919.83, so I’m not sure why there is a difference)

February 2024: $77,636.96, which means we are down $2,282.87!!! That is based on the number being shown on 3/1, not what I originally saw, but still, progress!!!

March 2024: $76,172.23. This month was technically down, but we did a bit of spending. We needed some shelving in the basement for totes, got a few vacation items, replaced our range hood (the old one died in 2022), some camping items (a larger, better cooler, a larger tent, and a canopy, plus some chairs for Kalen and I), and I think that was it. Either way, we’re still down, and we’re still making progress. Slow and steady wins the race!


“Use it up, wear it out, make do, or do without”

I’m trying to think if we’ve had an opportunity to make this happen, but I honestly can’t think of anything. We did get some clothing for vacation, but I tried not to. Unfortunately the jean shorts I had were waaaaay too big on me, and even with a belt they were too big, so I bought two new pairs. Otherwise, I borrowed some clothes from my sister because she had some from her honeymoon in Grenada, so it worked out well!

Ashley and I did go thrifting one day, where I purchased some beautiful crocheted doilies, a flour sifter, a nut grinder, and a few other decorative items, and then Kalen and I went the day after that where I purchased an embroidered table runner. I’m trying to downsize decor, but the decor I have I want to be thrifted as much as possible. And I’m a sucker for doilies/runners.


Cook More from Scratch

One of the new things I made in March was homemade pita bread! This is one of the most delicious things I have ever consumed, and it was so freaking easy! The recipe is not mine to share, but there are similar out there if you search. I also made sourdough pumpernickel that was a huge hit too. AND, I made a chocolate chip coffee sourdough loaf and it was SO GOOD toasted!!!


More Physical Movement (Again)

I haven’t quite moved much, but I’m definitely not just sitting as much as I used to.

Less Screen Time

Well, no, this hasn’t happened. I gave up Facebook for Lent, but otherwise was still on my phone/computer a lot. Still watching YouTube videos like my life depends on it, and still playing my Wordscapes. I do have time limits set for the apps I spend the most time on, but since I have the pass code, it is easy to override said limits.


Spend Less on Groceries (Again)

We spent $667.08 on groceries in March, leaving an extra $32.92 leftover. I think we made a trip to Costco, but I honestly don’t remember haha. Either way, pretty happy with that!

Read or Listen to 12 Classic Novels

I’m definitely going through this goal slowly, but I am happy with my progress. If I read one book per month, that would put me at 2 months ahead of schedule. I’m currently reading Emma by Jane Austen, and not listening to any classics (going through some historical fiction I’ve been wanting to read). I’m really happy with my reading so far this year. My overall goal is 36 books, and I’m at 26. Audio books have completely brought back my love of reading! I love being able to listen and do other tasks, and I almost feel as if I pay more attention to the audio books than paper/e-books.

  1. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Mongomery (I actually listened to books 1-6, but I’m only counting it as one on the list)
  2. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  3. The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens
  4. The Chronicles of Narnia (books 1-7) by C.S. Lewis
  5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Leave a comment