2023 Goals: What I’d Like to Achieve This Year Week 2

Another week has come and gone, friends! I feel like a good bit was accomplished this week in some areas of the goals list, partly because we’re preparing for something to happen. But, more on that later. 😉

So, how did this week go? I’m glad you asked!

Organize Basement

We’ve gotten a good bit done, but it hasn’t made a dent. We finally hung some of the shelves, although one still has to be hung in the living room, and I kind of realized which ones just wouldn’t work for what I’d wanted them for, which is sad, but it it what it is. I’ve been taking the Christmas stuff down, and that’s complete minus the ornaments/trees. Once those are in the basement, we can better separate holiday stuff, and see what we have. The next big project will probably be the pantry shelves, and then I can take a proper pantry inventory down there. I also bought new baskets for the hallway closet – the bins I’m using now are functional (from the Dollar Tree), but they aren’t wonderful. Because they’re taller, it’s difficult to see what’s in them, particularly the top shelf bins, and they’re not as sturdy as one would like (but they were only $1). I’ll use them in the basement somehow, because they are still perfectly functional, just not for that space.

Read 12 New Books

I am still loving the audio book options on the Libby app! I finished “The Orphan Collector” and it was so so so so good! I started a new one, and have various books on hold through the app. It’s been nice to work with yarn, or clean, all while reading.

So far this year, the new books I’ve read are:

  1. The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton
  2. The Orphan Collector by Ellen Marie Wiseman

Finish Crocheting the Blanket

I haven’t touched this yet. I’m still working on the scarf, because a lot of my time this week was spent doing other things. I’m not worried about it. There’s time. 🙂

Spend 1000 Hours Outside

I’m the type of person that gets sick easily, but takes forever to recover, which means that I am STILL not feeling 100% so I STILL have not been outside, minus running the compost out or going to and from the car.

Eat Out Less

Still holding strong on the YNAB Challenge, and have not succumbed to the ease of take out. Or the ease of Pink Drinks from Starbucks. We technically had pizza out, but we didn’t pay and it was for a birthday party (my niece’s 10th birthday). I don’t count that as, again, we weren’t paying, and this challenge (for us) is to not spend the money.

Pay Down Debts/Save Money

We’re still being diligent with the budget and being mindful of spending. I’m not sure what’s updated from last week because I haven’t been paying attention (but also not leaving the house).

Spend Less on Groceries

I had meant to post the breakdown of what we spent on groceries, and what we got last week, and time slipped away, so my goal is to do a combo week 1&2 this week.

Study German Consistently

This week I only did 3 reviews and 2 new lessons. So ein Käse! (That stands for Rubbish!, or literally “Such a cheese!” lol)

Learn to Sew

This won’t come to pass until the basement is set up, but I did get my free fabric all washed, folded, and stored in bins.

Do Something with the 17,081 Pictures on My Phone

Let’s see – last week we were at 16, 864, which was down from the start (which I have also now added into the “title” of this section). Today we have 16,989. Oops? I did delete quite a few, but then saved more, such as these gems. I don’t know why I am this way.

Spend More Time with God

I’m reading a Freedom in Christ devotional on the Bible app, so this week I’ve read Matthew 6:33, Psalms 139:23-24, Proverbs 8, Isaiah 55:9, Psalms 46:10, John 10:27, Proverbs 9, Mark 4:22, Ephesians 2:10, Psalms 139:13-14, 2 Corinthians 4:7, 2 Timothy 2:20-21, Proverbs 10, 1 John 1:9, Acts 3:19-21, Proverbs 11, Ephesians 4:31-32, Matthew 6:14-15, Proverbs 12, Exodus 20:3-6, Ephesians 1:3, Nehemiah 8:10, Psalms 16:11, Proverbs 13, Matthew 16:24, and Proverbs 14.

I read every single day of the week – I’m really enjoying this particular devotional I picked! I still need to find/start a reading plan, but for now this is working. I also need to find a better way to document what I read. Maybe I should just post a favorite verse from that week? Something to think about.

Praying can still use some work.

Do More Baking

There was no need to bake last week. The sandwich bread I’d made had made two loaves, although I need to dry up what’s left and turn it into breadcrumbs. I will have to bake sandwich bread for the coming week though, which is on for today or tomorrow, depending on how long the ornaments/shelves/cleaning takes me. Luckily there’s no school tomorrow, so no need for sandwich bread just yet.

Leave a comment